Ann Poage Chapter, NSDAR

Houston, Texas
Organized April 13, 1940

Contact Us

Houston Skyline; Beth Goetzman Photography copyright 2021, used with permission, all rights reserved

About Us

  • National Motto: God, Home, and Country

  • National Theme: Rise and Shine for America!

  • Texas State Theme: Answering the call to serve, with many & varied gifts.

The Ann Poage Chapter, National Society of the Daughters of the American Revolution (NSDAR or DAR), was organized on April 13, 1940, and is named after the ancestor of founding Regent Regina Higdon Sykes. Ann Poage was a woman of great energy and self-reliance. Because of her active service in the Revolutionary War, Ann Poage is recognized as a Revolutionary Patriot for molding bullets, serving meals, and standing watch at Fort Nelson in Louisville, Kentucky.

The chapter, which celebrates 80 years of service, currently has over 80 members from the greater Houston area and beyond.

Become a member

Membership is open to all women eighteen years of age and older who can provide lineal, bloodline descent from an ancestor who aided in achieving American independence. Read more details on our Texas membership page.

Contact Us

More about Ann Poage

Ann Kennedy, daughter of Joseph Kennedy, first married John Wilson. Widowed, she then married William Poage, and it was with their five children that the Poages became the fifth non-native family to enter Kentucky, arriving at Boonesborough in September 1775. They came with Colonel Joseph Lindsey, Commissionaire for General George Clark's Army.

In February 1776, the Poages settled in Harrodsburg, where they cleared land and raised corn. They brought the first spinning wheel into that area and made the first linen from lint of nettles and buffalo wool. While General Clark's army was stationed at the fort in Louisville, Ann Poage helped serve meals, mold bullets, and stood her turn in the watchtower as lookout for Indians. In September 1778, William Poage was mortally wounded when Indians attacked him and fifteen other men as they were going to Logan's Station.

In 1781, Ann Poage married Colonel Joseph Lindsey, who was later killed at the Battle of Blue Licks. Several years later, Mrs. Ann Kennedy Wilson Poage Lindsey married her fourth husband, James McGinty. She lived many more years as Mrs. James McGinty, and that is the way her grave is marked at Fort Harrodsburg, Kentucky. The grave marker of Ann Poage McGinty was sponsored by Ann Poage Chapter, NSDAR, on June 16, 1950, on the occasion of the 176th anniversary of Harrodsburg, Kentucky. (Reference: Collin's History of Kentucky, Volumes I and II)

Calendar of Events

Regular meetings are held on the second Saturday of the month from October through May. Each February we host a tea to celebrate Presidents' Day and to honor our new members. We also schedule a field trip once a year and host happy hours. The Houston Area Regents Council hosts a Flag Day luncheon in June and a Constitution Day luncheon in September.

Regular meetings begin with refreshments and socializing, followed by a program and business meeting. Upcoming programs include:

  • Genealogy 101
  • Historic Apollo Mission Control Center Restoration Project, Johnson Space Center
  • Remembrance and Closure for POW/MIA Families
  • The 400th Anniversary of the Mayflower Voyage
  • Movers and Shakers - Houston Women in Cultural History
  • Field Trip to Houston Botanic Garden

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, all meetings will be conducted via Zoom until notified otherwise. Visitors and prospective members are welcome at all meetings. Contact us if you would like to join in.

Chapter Activities

Service Projects
DAR is a women's service organization dedicated to promoting historic preservation, education, patriotism, and honoring the Patriots of the American Revolutionary War. The Ann Poage Chapter, NSDAR, participates in at least one major service project each year. Recent examples include creating gift bags for veterans attending Lone Survivor foundation retreats, participating in the Susan G. Komen Race for the Cure, and donating money to provide 2,115 meals to the Houston Food Bank.

Historic Preservation and Community Service Awards
The DAR Historic Preservation Medal was awarded to member and past Regent Lisa Pennington and her husband David Furlow for their extraordinary efforts to preserve the history of Plymouth Colony.

The DAR Community Service Award was presented to member Hillary Houle for coordinating a letter-writing campaign to first responders at the beginning of the COVID-19 pandemic.

Chapter member Dr. Elizabeth Grimm and her husband Dr. Jack Roth were featured in a news story about their participation in COVID-19 vaccine trials.

The Ann Poage Chapter, NSDAR, maintains and awards scholarships from two funds each year.

The Ann Poage Memorial Nursing Scholarship Fund was established in 1942, in honor of Mrs. Edith Freeman Rudersdorf, a Charter Member of the Chapter. The Memorial Scholarship Fund provides scholarship(s) to one or more outstanding nursing students graduating from the University of Texas School of Nursing.

The Teacher Development Scholarship Fund was established in 2020, when the Mary Smith Fay Memorial Scholarship Fund, and the Marian Prestbo Beckham Scholarship Fund were combined. This fund annually provides scholarship(s) to one or more primary or secondary school teachers wishing to participate in professional development activities.


  New Hampshire
Ichabod Jewett
Amos Boynton
Seth Kent
Ezra Pratt
New York
Aaron Stone
Teunis Dolson
  Jonathan Tompkins
Thomas Leverett Pennsylvania
Benjamin Manning, Jr. James Bratton
Silas Mercer Jost Fix
Thomas Shannon Yost George
  Nicholas Ickes
Massachusetts John Koplin
Samuel Barnaby Michael Lei
Elijah Carter Christopher Mantle
Andrew Cobb John McHenry
Eliphalet Elms Conrad Riegelman
Josiah Hackett Henry Warner
David Henley  
Temple Kendall Rhode Island
Stephen Paine William Sherman
Samuel Reed  
Artemas Ward South Carolina
Ammiel Weeks William Colvin
Ephriam Whitcomb Thomas Johnston
  Edward McGraw, Sr.
Maryland Peter McGraw
William Beatty Edward Van Der Veer
Moses Driscoll, Sr Willis Watson
Benjamin Hearne  
John Horsey Virginia
Richard Rapier James Agee
David Stanford Nathaniel Allen
  Thomas Allen
North Carolina Edward Beville, Sr.
Robert Bean John Beville
Charles Blount Edward Burgess
William Call Thomas Burroughs
John Collier Abraham Burton
Henry Connelly Spencer Clack
David Crawley Benjamin Coleman
William Cromartie John Collier
Stephen Darden Zachariah Collins
John Devane, Sr. John Cox, Jr.
Joseph Dixon Andrew Fox
William Fletcher Henry Harris
John Frazier Joseph Hawkins
Thomas Gibson John Higdon
Daniel Gillespie Robert Hill
Preston Goforth Susanah Hudson
George Granbery Samuel Johnson
Robert Harris Webb Kidd
George Houser, Jr. William Loving
George Houser, Sr. Christian Miller
Francis Howard John Miller
Francis Howard Jonathan Osborn
Exum Lewis Samuel Pickerill
William Midyett William Ragsdale
James Moore Charles Reagan
Henry Shores William Spurlock
Hardy Stevens John Storm
Henricus Stonecypher Charles Taliaferro
William Todd John Threldkeld
John Treadwell Nicholas Tuttle
John Walker Benedict Yeary
Stephen White  
Jonathan Woody Vermont
  Luther Field

NSDAR Recognized Site 2021 - Ann Poage

The content contained herein does not necessarily represent the position of the NSDAR. Hyperlinks to other sites are not the responsibility of the NSDAR, the state organizations, or individual DAR chapters.
Houston Skyline photo; Beth Goetzman Photography, copyright 2021, used with permission, all rights reserved.
For technical website issues, contact the webmaster.
Last updated: 20 October, 2021

TXDAR Approval Image - 2021 Ann Poage