NSDAR Elizabeth Crockett Chapter - Granbury, Texas
Home Patriots Meetings Chapter Info Photos Contact


Elizabeth Crockett Monument in Acton Cemetery The Elizabeth Crocket Chapter, National Society Daughters of the American Revolution (NSDAR or DAR), was named in commemoration of ELIZABETH PATTON CROCKETT, widow of David Crockett, the celebrated frontiersman from Tennessee who died in the Battle of the Alamo for Texas independence, March 6, 1836.

Elizabeth Crockett and her two children left Tennessee, in 1853, to claim Texas land provided for heirs of David Crockett on December 23, 1837, by a Republic of Texas bounty warrant. Arriving in Texas, Elizabeth Crockett and her children made their new home on 640 acres of land at Rucker's Creek, about six miles from present Granbury. Elizabeth resided in Texas until her death on January 31, 1860. She is buried in a 12 by 21-foot burial plot at Acton State Historic Site in Acton Cemetery. Elizabeth's burial spot is marked by a 28-foot marble monument showing a pioneer woman, shading her eyes from the sun, looking to the west, in search of her missing husband.

The Elizabeth Crockett Chapter, NSDAR, was organized June 5, 1987, at Granbury, Hood County, Texas, with 26 charter members.


Rosanna Elizabeth Stewart Baker
Laurie Ann Hendricks Briscoe
Geraldine Elkins Cook
Dorothy Peavy Ferguson Depew
Mary Kate Randle Durham
Sherry Martin Elrod
Virginia Blount Fenton
Talmadge Inez Smith Hawthorne
Dorothy Jean Starnes Honeycutt
Florence Lambert Juel
Kay Durham Lee
Kathryn Cox Long
Bobby Watts Luckenbach
Vircenoy Baker Macatee
JoAnn Randle Massey
Betty Jean Hill McCray
Iva Lou Malphurs Parker
Alice Merrill Price
Charlsey Baker Lewis Robinson
Beverly Jane Bell Ross
Martha Walde Schubert
Janyce Guyger Sledge
Dorothy Luzane Grissom Slocum
Sandra Ann Kerr Weaver
Nona Kingery Williams
Marie Huggins Winsett


2017-2019 Margaret Connolly Cook *
2015-2017 Sue Rearden *
2013-2015 Betty Gosdin *
2011-2013 Shelby L. Sackett *
2009-2011 Kathy L. Hanlon *
2007-2009 Marcy Carter-Lovick *
2005-2007 Micki J. Burleson
2003-2005 Elizabeth M. Ashley *
2001-2003 Mary Anne Minturn *
1999-2001 Lelah D. Goodall *
1997-1999 Wynne L. Walton
1995-1997 Patricia A. Haygood *
1993-1995 Ann E. Baker
1991-1993 Vircenoy Macatee *
1989-1991 Mary K. Durham
1987-1989 Dorothy J. Depew
* Denotes Honorary Chapter Regent



For technical problems, contact the webmaster.

The content contained herein does not necessarily represent the position of the NSDAR. Hyperlinks to
other sites are not the responsibility of the NSDAR, the state organizations, or individual DAR chapters.

Last updated February 25, 2020