Home History and Activities Patriots Texas DAR National DAR


Welcome to Victoria!

Victoria, the second oldest incorporated city in the state of Texas, is home to a rich and vibrant history.  Our county can claim to have been ruled by all six governments with ruling power during the formation of Texas Spain, France, Mexico, The Republic of Texas, The Confederate States of America and The United States of America.

Dating back before the Texas War for Independence, it was the site of Spanish exploration, missionary activity, and thriving Indian communities.  In the early 1800s, Victoria became an official Mexican settlement when, in 1824, Empresario Don Martin de Leon was given a land grant by the Mexican government which detailed the layout for a town to be built on the eastern bank of the Guadalupe River.  He brought a colony of ten friends and their families from Mexico to settle the area.  The early settlers and friends of the founder lived along Main Street, which was known as LaCalle De Los Diez Amigos - The Street of Ten Friends. The new town was named Guadalupe Victoria, Nuestra Senora de Guadalupe y Jesus after the patron saint of Mexico, and would be known as Victoria.

The Guadalupe Victoria Chapter NSDAR is located in Victoria, Texas, and was organized 23 February 1934, and granted its charter two years later. Meetings are held the third Thursday of most months and some Saturdays at 2:30 pm, with an April evening meeting honoring area high school DAR Good Citizen award recipients.

DAR Membership

Any woman is eligible for membership who is no less than eighteen years of age and can prove lineal, bloodline descent from an ancestor who aided in achieving American independence.  She must provide documentation for each statement of birth, marriage, and death.  

Admission to membership in the NSDAR is by invitation through a chapter in your state organization.  No chapter may discriminate against an applicant on the basis of race or creed. 

Our meetings are held once a month, at differing times and locations to accommodate the schedules of our members, speakers, or special guests.  Please contact us if you are interested in attending a meeting.  We welcome prospective members and guests and invite you to visit our links to learn more about our chapter's history, patriot ancestors, and officers.

Need more information about DAR?  You can link to the state website at the Texas DAR link, or the national website at the NSDAR link.

The DAR Insignia is the property of, and is copyrighted by, the National Society of the Daughters of the American Revolution.
For technical problems with this page, contact
Last update
November 8, 2012